Peak Climbing in Nepal

Peak Climbing in Nepal

A larger section of the Great Himalayan range, running from Iran to Burma, falls within the territory of Nepal forming a great natural bordering wall between Nepal and China which includes so many small peaks in addition to the famous eight thousanders of the world.            

Government of Nepal, Ministry for Tourism, Culture and Civil Aviation in association with Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) - national alpine association of Nepal have divided the Nepal's mountains into two category viz: expedition peaks and trekking peaks. Expedition peaks are the peaks above 7,000 m that demand much costly permit fees and more mountaineering technical skills to conquer them. And the peaks below 7,000 metres are called trekking peaks that are considered climbable by anyone with a moderate amount of mountaineering experience and skills. While some can be climbed without crampons or an ice axe, most require use of this equipment. Trekking peaks offer a great potential adventure and exploration.

Himalayan Hub International offers both trekking and climbing peaks for the passionate climbers in order to set astonishing success to their interests through climbing. There are some popular peaks like Pisang peak, Island peak, Mera peak, Amadablam, Chulu Far, Chulu West  that are preferred by many climbers among all.   

For trekkers there are 18 minor peaks open for Alpine climbing. Himalayan Hub International provides all kinds of detailed information and logistical support required for climbing arrangements to attempt summits. In spite of the fact that the altitude of the peaks is below 6600m, they offer a serious challenge often passing over rocky, icy and snowy terrain. The use of ropes and other mountaineering equipment is also necessary on these treks. It is strongly recommended that the climbers having technical know-how on snow and ice climbing can attempt these peaks, except for a few easy peaks such as Mera Peak (6476m). The association has classified the trekking peaks into two sub-categories as Group "A" and Group "B" peaks. Association monitors all climbing activities of these peaks and are subject to its rules & regulations.

Permit Fee Structure for Trekking (NMA) Peaks which is to be paid to NMA through your local liaison agent in Nepal

Group "A" Peak:

Royalty for up to seven members (1-7 members) : USD 500.00
Royalty for each additional member up to 12 persons: USD 100.00
(Maximum 12 persons are permitted in a group)

Group "B" Peaks :
Group Size: 1-4 Person US $ 350.00 US $ 40.00 per extra member up to 8 members US $ 25.00 per extra member up to 12 members (Maximum 12 persons in a group)